POST Inquiry/MTAS/ORPD Investigation Update

POST Inquiry

As reported here, the POST commission has requested that the U.S. Attorney General for East TN, the Anderson County DA and the Blount County DA investigate whether or not the Oak Ridge Police Chief “violated federal and state law involving the possession of a firearm while under the authority of an active Order of Protection.”  

The POST commission is the state agency that essentially says who can and who cannot serve as a law enforcement officer in Tennessee. They voted unanimously to pursue this matter and their letters are posted here:  POST Letter to Blount Cty and US Atty POST Letter to DA Clark.  As you will read, they explicitly and repeatedly refer to the Order of Protection issued against Chief Akagi. Nowhere in their letters do they refer to it as an Ex Parte order; nowhere in their letters do they question its existence.

Now, in addition to the MTAS investigation, three other agencies will investigate our issues and all three must answer the question: Are those whom we entrust to serve and protect held to a different standard than the rest of us? 

MTAS Investigation/Another Meeting Scheduled

MTAS has now responded to council’s request to expand their investigation. You can read their response here:   MTAS Response to Expansion of Investigation Turns out, FREE ain’t FREE after all. The city clerk sent council an announcement moments ago about a work session to discuss the matter:

From: “Stanley, Diana” <DStanley@oakridgetn.gov>
Date: May 1, 2015 at 4:15:44 PM EDT
To: “Baughn, Trina” <tbaughn@oakridgetn.gov>, “Callison, Kelly” <kcallison@oakridgetn.gov>, “Gooch, Warren L.” <wgooch@oakridgetn.gov>, “Hensley, Charles” <CHensley@oakridgetn.gov>, “Hope, Chuck” <chope@oakridgetn.gov>, Rick Chinn <rchinn@oakridgetn.gov>, “Smith, Ellen” <ESmith@oakridgetn.gov>

Subject: Meeting Notification-May 5, 2015 Work Session

MEETING NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that a City Council Work Session will be held on Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. in the Municipal Building Training Room.  The purpose of this meeting is for City Council to provide clarification on inquiries presented by the Municipal Technical Advisory Service (MTAS) regarding the new scope of work on the review of the Oak Ridge Police Department.

Diana R. Stanley, City Clerk

CITY OF OAK RIDGE, TENNESSEE

 Electronic communications with officials and employees of the City are subject to Tennessee’s Public Records Act.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “POST Inquiry/MTAS/ORPD Investigation Update

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s